Snapchat

You've probably heard about Snapchat. It's the popular mobile app that allows you to send videos and pictures, both of which will delete after a few seconds of a person viewing them. Because the pictures and videos you send can only be viewed once, it’s easy to get careless. However, if you keep a few things in mind, it’s easy to stay safe with Snapchat while having a great time! 

ARE PICTURES REALLY DELETED?

The false sense of security comes when users think their pictures are automatically deleted. Unfortunately, individuals have learned how to save screenshots through the phone itself or by taking a picture with another phone, therefore saving the picture from deletion. It is also common for users to take screenshots and post them on social media sites. 

ONLY TAKE APPROPRIATE PHOTOS

Remember that people can take screenshots of any picture you send them, and save it to their camera roll forever. Also, remember that you never know who your friend will be with when they open your Snapchat, so make sure that you do not send private information!

KEEP IT TO FRIENDS ONLY

One of the most important aspects of using this app is to make sure you limit pictures to your friends and people you can trust. When you allow people who aren’t your friends to send you pictures or receive the ones you send, you are putting yourself at risk for receiving pictures that can get you in trouble. The safest thing to do is limit the use of this app to your closest friends.

EDIT YOUR PRIVACY SETTINGS SO THAT ONLY PEOPLE YOU KNOW CAN SEND YOU SNAPS.

Click here to view a guide on how to change your privacy settings.